SuperSportSchools Rugby | Schools Rugby

World Cup Final Showdown: A look at the players and their alma maters

By Hannes Nienaber , in News rugby Rugby | News , at 28 October 2023

There is no test match like one between the Springboks and the All Blacks and when the two side’s meet each other in a World Cup final even more so.

Both countries success on the rugby field could be traced back to the strong rugby culture within their school systems.

Three schools has three representatives each in Saturday’s World Cup final in the Stade de France in Paris. They are Paul Roos Gimnasium of Stellenbosch, Francis Douglas Memorial of Westown and St Kentigern College in Auckland.

Paul Roos Gimnasium also has produced the most Springboks since South Africa’s first test played back in 1891. The three representatives from the Maroon Machine are Damian Willemse, Steven Kitshoff and Willie le Roux.

Francis Douglas Memorial in New Plymouth is the alma mater to the three Barrett-brothers – Beauden, Jordie and Scott who all will be starting for the All Blacks in the final.

St Kentigerns College is a private school in Auckland who will be represented by Dalton Papali’i, Finlay Christie and Tamaiti Williams in the final.

In total 37 schools will be represented in the final – with the Springbok team consisting of players from 22 schools, while the All Blacks comes from 15 schools.

Remember to submit your nominations for SuperSport Schools’ “The Class of ’23”. We invite you to be a part of this journey by nominating unforgettable moments, outstanding athletes, and inspiring coaches.

Your participation will help us recognise and showcase the true stars and stories of 2023. Submit your nominations on the following link –

The teams for the Rugby World Cup Final and their schools: 

Damian WillemsePaul Roos Gimnasium15Beauden BarrettFrancis Douglas Memorial
Kurt-Lee ArendsePaulus Joubert14Will JordanChristchurch Boys' High
Jesse KrielMaritzburg College13Rieko IoaneAuckland Grammar
Damian de AllendeMilnerton12Jordie BarrettFrancis Douglas Memorial
Cheslin KolbeBrackenfell11Mark Tele'aMassey High School
Handré PollardPaarl Gimnasium10Richie Mo'ungaSt Andrews
Faf de Klerk Waterkloof9Aaron SmithFeilding
Duane VermeulenHoërskool Nelspruit8Ardie SaveaRongotai College
Pieter-Steph du ToitSwartland7Sam CaneReporoa College
Siya KolisiGrey High School6Shannon FrizellApifo’ou College
Franco MostertBrits5Scott BarrettFrancis Douglas Memorial
Eben EtzebethTygerberg4Brode RetallickChrischurch Boys' High
Frans MalherbePaarl Boys' High3Tyrel LomaxSt Edmond's College (AUS)
Bongi MbonambiVoortrekker/St Alban's College2Codie TaylorFeilding
Steven KitshoffPaul Roos Gimnasium1Ethan de GrootSouthland Boys' High
Deon FourieHoërskool Pietersburg16Samisoni Taukei'ahoSt Pauls Collegiate
Ox NcheLouis Botha17Tamaiti WilliamsSt Kentigern College
Trevor NyakaneBen Vorster18Nepo LaulalaWesley College
Jean KleynLinden19Sam WhitelockFeilding
RG SnymanAffies20Dalton Papali'iSt Kentigern College
Kwagga SmithHTS Middelburg21Finlay ChristieSt Kentigern College
Jasper WieseHoërskool Upington22Damian McKenzieChrists College
Willie le RouxPaul Roos Gimnasium23Anton Lienert-BrownChrischurch Boys' High


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!